Please be sure to always follow the rules and current campground restrictions of the BSL Police Department. If you have an emergency at BSL, please call 911.
1. Texas Parks and Wildlife rules must be followed at all times.
2. Canoes, row boats, paddle boats, and kayaks are only allowed on the slow end (West end) of the lake.
3. West end of the lake is a No Wake zone.
4. Counterclockwise travel on both sides of the lake (stay to the right).
5. 13 years and younger must wear US Coast Guard approved life vest.
6. All boats are subject to safety checks at any time while at the lake.
7. No persons under the age of 18 can ride in a boat while it is being towed by a motor vehicle.
1. Buffalo Springs Lake is stocked by Texas Parks and Wildlife.
2. Anyone 17 years or older must have a valid fishing license. Prices on Texas Parks and Wildlife website.
3. Fishing licenses can be purchased at Lakeside Grocery (phone: 806-749-0660), which is right outside the lake, or from any sports goods store.
4. Fishing allowed in all open areas of shoreline on the lake, with the exception of the bridge (located next to the Marina).
5. Species of fish caught at the lake: Crappie, Bass, Striper, Catfish, and Carp
If you have any amazing pictures of your fishing trip, please feel free to share them with us by uploading them to Open Range Outdoors.
1. Counterclockwise travel on both sides of the lake (stay to the right).
2. If the operator is 13 years of age they must have completed the boat safety course prescribed and approved by the Texas Department of Game and Fish.
3. Must be at least 16 years or older to operate a Jet Ski by yourself.
4. If the operator is under 16 years old they must be accompanied by someone at least 18 years of age.
5. 50 Feet Rule: Jet Skis must stay 50 feet away from the shoreline, any other boats and / or other Jet Skis and the shoreline at ALL Times while on the water.
6. Jet Ski must be off the water 30 minutes prior to sunset.
7. Anyone on a Jet Ski will wear a life vest. No exceptions.
Stop By Buffalo Springs Lake Today, and Enjoy an Incredible day With Your Family.
1. ATV riding hours – sunup to sundown. No night riding. Call to confirm that trails are open.
2. Complete the required ATV training course.
3. Pay attention to where you are riding.
4. Children 6 and older may use under 70cc engines, 12+ may use 70-90cc engines, and 16+ may use engines over 90cc.
5. ATV operators under the age of 14 must be under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian.
6. An ATV (all-terrain vehicle) is defined as a vehicle propelled with three or four tires in contact with the ground, designed for off-highway use by operator only (no passengers), and not designated for farming or lawn care.
7. Comply with all Texas ATV laws. Texas Parks and Wildlife now require an OHV sticker which can be purchased before coming to the lake.
8. ATV users must stay above the cliffs and east of Campground “A” or at the trails on the Northwest end of the dam.
9. ATV vehicles are not allowed on bridges, bar ditches, thoroughfares, shoulders of roads, public highways, or the grassy areas surrounding highways.
10. When taking your ATV across a public street, road, or highway that is not an interstate or limited access highway, you must stop the ATV completely, yield the right of way, cross with the headlight and the taillight on, and go quickly and safely at a 90 degree angle.
11. Wear safety gear. A properly fastened helmet and eye protection are required year round. Whether you are riding for pleasure, camping, playing in the sand dunes, or riding in the forest, you must wear safety gear at all times.